Drobo Forums
No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - Printable Version

+- Drobo Forums (http://www.drobospace.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Drobo (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: NAS Products (/forumdisplay.php?fid=61)
+---- Forum: Drobo 5N (/forumdisplay.php?fid=40)
+---- Thread: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme (/showthread.php?tid=145394)


No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - arcticmoose - 12-21-2015 07:11 AM

I am having two connection issues (no connection at all to a Technicolor Gateway and only 100 mbit to an Airport Extreme) and I haven't found any solutions on the forums or elsewhere on the Internet. Any pointers in the right direction would be greatly appreciated!

I have a Technicolor Media Access Gateway G799vn v2 running software release 10.5.1.R providing an Internet connection through NAT/DHCP. It has a wired connection to an Apple TV (gen 4) and an Airport Extreme.

The Airport Extreme is model A1521 (latest version) running firmware 7.7.3 in bridged mode, serving various WIFI devices. It normally has no wired connections besides the Drobo 5N, except temporarily for large data transfers.

The Drobo 5N is running firmware 3.3.0 [8.75.76511]. It has Seagate ST3000DM001-1ER 3 TB drives in the top three bays, the last two are empty. Capacity is showing 4.04 TB used and 1.36 TB (25%) free. There is no mSATA installed.

A few weeks ago, after many months without any issues at all, I noticed that streaming video from the Drobo 5N would stutter or stop from time to time. I didn't have time to look into it then, so I have been copying files locally as a workaround. The Drobo 5N is only used for Time Machine (triggered manually when the Drobo 5N is not otherwise engaged) and video playback one file at a time.

Looking into it now, this is what I've got so far:
  • According to Drobo Dashboard, the Drobo 5N is connecting to the Airport Extreme at 100 mbit full duplex.
  • Disconnecting the cable from the Drobo 5N and connecting a MacBook Pro to the same port on the Airport Extreme using the same cable renders a 1000 mbit full-duplex connection.
  • If I connect the Drobo 5N directly to the MacBook Pro it connects at 100 mbit full duplex. Forcing eth0 to 1000 mbit on the Mac causing the connection to drop.
  • All three scenarios have been tested using the cable supplied with the Drobo 5N as well as two other cables, with consistent results.
  • Additionally, the Drobo 5N refuses to connect at all when wired directly to the Technicolor Gateway. Connecting the MacBook Pro to the same cable results in a 1000 mbit full-duplex connection. Connecting the Drobo 5N directly to the Technicolor Gateway worked perfectly when I first got it.

I have updated the Drobo Dashboard software and the Drobo 5N firmware as they have been issued.

I just installed the ssh server, it looks like to me as though the 1000 mbit link connects but then reverts to 100 mbit:

$ dmesg | grep eth0
[2015-12-21,03:57:00.26] Kernel command line: rootfstype=jffs2 root=/dev/mtdblock3 rw mtdparts=cfi_flash_0:1m@0m(nor_hdr),3m@1m(var),30m@4m(rfs0),30m@34m(rfs1) ip=169.254.1.12:169.254.189.174:169.254.1.1:255.255.0.0:shockwave:eth0:none mv_cpu_count=3 mv_rsrc=uart1:eth0:spi:mstr mv_sh_mem=0x80000000:0x100000 mv_ipc=0 vmalloc=550M console=ttyS0,115200 earlyprintk=ttyS0,1152000 pm_level=off
[2015-12-21,03:57:00.75] AMP: Resources - uart1 - eth0 - spi - mstr
[2015-12-21,03:57:01.36] o eth0, ifindex = 2, GbE port = 0
[2015-12-21,03:57:01.58] eth0: mv_eth_start
[2015-12-21,03:57:01.59] eth0: link up
[2015-12-21,03:57:01.60] eth0: started
[2015-12-21,03:57:01.62] device=eth0, addr=169.254.1.12, mask=255.255.0.0, gw=169.254.1.1,
[2015-12-21,03:57:12.07] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
[2015-12-21,04:12:52.41] eth0: link down
[2015-12-21,04:12:59.15] eth0: link up, full duplex, speed 1 Gbps
[2015-12-21,04:13:00.25] eth0: link down
[2015-12-21,04:13:06.86] eth0: link up, full duplex, speed 1 Gbps
[2015-12-21,04:13:07.97] eth0: link down
[2015-12-21,04:13:14.12] eth0: link up, full duplex, speed 100 Mbps

$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1A:62:04:70:CD
inet addr:192.168.1.71 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21a:62ff:fe04:70cd/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:10301 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5824 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:532
RX bytes:3487971 (3.3 MiB) TX bytes:1699040 (1.6 MiB)
Interrupt:8

$ ethtool eth0
Settings for eth0:
Supported ports: [ TP MII ]
Supported link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
1000baseT/Full
Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
Advertised link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full
Advertised pause frame use: No
Advertised auto-negotiation: No
Link partner advertised link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
Link partner advertised pause frame use: No
Link partner advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
Speed: 100Mb/s
Duplex: Full
Port: MII
PHYAD: 0
Transceiver: internal
Auto-negotiation: on
Cannot get wake-on-lan settings: Operation not permitted
Cannot get link status: Operation not permitted



My primary goal is to get 1000 mbit transfer speed to the Airport Extreme, the secondary to get a 1000 mbit connection to the Technicolor Gateway.

Any suggestions?


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - Paul - 12-21-2015 01:55 PM

hi, i dont know much about this topic but i seem to remember some users having problems to do with some devices set to be using jumbo frames... it might be something to look into, (or i could just be talking mumboJumbo) Smile but might help


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - arcticmoose - 12-21-2015 02:02 PM

Thanks! MTU is set to the default, 1500, is there reason to change it?

Edit: I can see how it could make a difference for transfer speeds, but I can't imagine it would affect link negotiation, would it?


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - Paul - 12-21-2015 02:22 PM

its probably best for a networking person to respond, but i think everything has to use the same value


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - johnm - 12-21-2015 10:19 PM

Jumbo frames are an extension to gigabit Ethernet. The problem with them is that they're not backwards compatible and they only give a small increase in throughput and therefore in many cases aren't worth the trouble they cause. Stick with an MTU of 1500 while you're troubleshooting, at least.

The link down entries in the syslog look suspicious. Are they caused by you unplugging the cable? If not, it might be an intermittent contact, a damaged socket perhaps. To be able to negotiate a gigabit connection all four pairs (eight contacts) are needed and if one is damaged it will either fall back to a lower speed or not work at all, depending on which one is damaged. I'd look for physical damage before suspecting anything wrong with a configuration that has worked before.


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - don - 12-22-2015 01:25 AM

hmm another thing to note:

Drobo 5N seems to advertised its link to support the full range (incl 1000baseT):
Advertised link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full

But the other party; link mode missing 1000baseT:
Link partner advertised link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - johnm - 12-22-2015 09:30 AM

This seems familiar. Either this is a duplicate post or someone else has had the same problem recently. I'll try to find the other thread.
Here. Same symptoms. Advice offered. OP never replied.


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - arcticmoose - 12-22-2015 03:52 PM

(12-21-2015 10:19 PM)johnm Wrote:  The link down entries in the syslog look suspicious. Are they caused by you unplugging the cable?

I'm not 100% sure, but I am fairly certain they can all be accounted for by testing different cables or connecting different devices.

(12-21-2015 10:19 PM)johnm Wrote:  I'd look for physical damage before suspecting anything wrong with a configuration that has worked before.

This does make sense, although I'm not sure how I'd go about it if I cannot see any visible damage.


(12-22-2015 01:25 AM)don Wrote:  But the other party; link mode missing 1000baseT:
Link partner advertised link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full

Curious indeed, especially since I know that several other devices connect at 1000 mbit/s just fine, using the same port and cable.

(12-22-2015 09:30 AM)johnm Wrote:  This seems familiar. Either this is a duplicate post or someone else has had the same problem recently. I'll try to find the other thread.
Here. Same symptoms. Advice offered. OP never replied.

I did find this thread, which of course isn't all that enlightening as the OP did not respond. Still, it is slightly comforting that my problem is not entirely unique.


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - johnm - 12-22-2015 08:34 PM

Well, I'd break the problem down into the smallest of pieces. First of all I'd peer into the Ethernet ports themselves (especially the one on the Drobo) and make sure that the eight springy contacts are reasonably well aligned. I'd plug a cable in and make sure it feels right as it clicks in. I don't know your router or the Airport Extreme so I'd use a plain old gigabit switch with LEDs that indicate the speed and a brand new factory made Cat 5e or 6 cable. I'd test the cable by using it to connect the computer to the switch and then I'd unplug the computer and replace it with the Drobo. In the absence of a switch I'd connect the computer and the Drobo after first contriving to test the cable (computer and router, perhaps). The Drobo is clearly capably of negotiating a gigabit connection because it did so twice in your syslog. So forget all your previous tests and conclusions and start again as simply as possible and see what you can discover.


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - arcticmoose - 12-23-2015 01:27 PM

(12-22-2015 08:34 PM)johnm Wrote:  So forget all your previous tests and conclusions and start again as simply as possible and see what you can discover.

Good idea, thanks! I don't have a switch laying around, I'll get one after Christmas and give it a try.

I can pick up this D-Link for next to nothing, looks like it has the required status LEDs.

http://www.inet.se/files/pdf/5400855_0.pdf


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - jteeuw - 12-28-2015 10:02 AM

I'm was experiencing the same problem that the Drobo 5N did not want to connect at 1000 mbit/sec, while all my other devices would connect at gigabit speed. Ethtool reported 'link partner modes' without gigabit speed. I tried various solutions to no avail; including checking the port on the Drobo, switching ports, using different cables, connecting the Drobo to verified gigabit port and cables. Even tried to force gigabit using ethtool, but I would then lose connection to the Drobo.

In all dispair I tried another ethernet cable. An old CAT5e cable I still have from prior to upgrading the network infrastructure. And surprisingly, it worked! The Drobo was connecting at gigabit speeds again.

I don't understand why the other CAT6a F/UTP cable isn't working properly with the Drobo. But you probably won't need CAT6 for short distances anyway. I did some quick performance tests with the 1m CAT5e cable, and here are the results:

AFP ~100 MB/sec read, and between 80 to 90 MB/sec write
SMB ~50 MB/sec read, and a steady 40 MB/sec write
rsync/ssh reads and writes at a stable 18 MB/sec (probably limited by the CPU processing power like most NAS system; and unfortunately my most common usage).

For me this concludes another inexplicable mystery of electrical devices. Hope you have the same luck with the new switch; otherwise, try a different type/brand/quality ethernet cable.


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - arcticmoose - 12-29-2015 01:51 PM

(12-22-2015 08:34 PM)johnm Wrote:  First of all I'd peer into the Ethernet ports themselves (especially the one on the Drobo) and make sure that the eight springy contacts are reasonably well aligned.

As far as I can tell they all look fine.

(12-22-2015 08:34 PM)johnm Wrote:  I'd plug a cable in and make sure it feels right as it clicks in. I don't know your router or the Airport Extreme so I'd use a plain old gigabit switch with LEDs that indicate the speed and a brand new factory made Cat 5e or 6 cable.

I have now done precisely this. I bought the D-Link switch and a brand new 0.5m Cat-6 cable.

The link partner advertised modes are still not correct, but of course everything else connected to the switch, using the same cable, does connect at 1000 mbit/s:

Code:
$ ethtool eth0
Settings for eth0:
    Supported ports: [ TP MII ]
    Supported link modes:   10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                            100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
                            1000baseT/Full
    Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
    Advertised link modes:  10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                            100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
                            1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full
    Advertised pause frame use: No
    Advertised auto-negotiation: No
    Link partner advertised link modes:  10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
                                         100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
    Link partner advertised pause frame use: No
    Link partner advertised auto-negotiation: Yes
    Speed: 100Mb/s
    Duplex: Full
    Port: MII
    PHYAD: 0
    Transceiver: internal
    Auto-negotiation: on
Cannot get wake-on-lan settings: Operation not permitted
Cannot get link status: Operation not permitted

Also, as before, it looks like the 1 Gbps does go up momentarily during boot:

Code:
$ dmesg | grep eth0
[2015-12-29,11:23:11.85] Kernel command line: rootfstype=jffs2 root=/dev/mtdblock3 rw mtdparts=cfi_flash_0:1m@0m(nor_hdr),3m@1m(var),30m@4m(rfs0),30m@34m(rfs1) ip=169.254.1.12:169.254.189.174:169.254.1.1:255.255.0.0:shockwave:eth0:none mv_cpu_count=3 mv_rsrc=uart1:eth0:spi:mstr mv_sh_mem=0x80000000:0x100000 mv_ipc=0 vmalloc=550M console=ttyS0,115200 earlyprintk=ttyS0,1152000 pm_level=off
[2015-12-29,11:23:12.34]   AMP: Resources - uart1 - eth0 - spi - mstr
[2015-12-29,11:23:12.95]     o eth0, ifindex = 2, GbE port = 0
[2015-12-29,11:23:13.17] eth0: mv_eth_start
[2015-12-29,11:23:13.18] eth0: link up
[2015-12-29,11:23:13.19] eth0: started
[2015-12-29,11:23:13.21]      device=eth0, addr=169.254.1.12, mask=255.255.0.0, gw=169.254.1.1,
[2015-12-29,11:23:23.47] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
[2015-12-29,11:25:41.56] eth0: link down
[2015-12-29,11:25:45.77] eth0: link up, full duplex, speed 1 Gbps
[2015-12-29,11:25:46.85] eth0: link down
[2015-12-29,11:25:49.81] eth0: link up, full duplex, speed 1 Gbps
[2015-12-29,11:25:50.96] eth0: link down
[2015-12-29,11:25:53.92] eth0: link up, full duplex, speed 1 Gbps
[2015-12-29,11:25:55.07] eth0: link down
[2015-12-29,11:25:57.35] eth0: link up, full duplex, speed 100 Mbps

(12-28-2015 10:02 AM)jteeuw Wrote:  In all dispair I tried another ethernet cable. An old CAT5e cable I still have from prior to upgrading the network infrastructure. And surprisingly, it worked! The Drobo was connecting at gigabit speeds again.

All in all I have tried seven different cables, no luck so far.

Any other ideas?


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - arcticmoose - 12-31-2015 07:24 AM

I just had a look through dmesg again and noticed a pattern.

I get these eight entries every time the Ethernet cable is unplugged and plugged back in:

[2015-12-31,05:24:58.47] eth0: link down
[2015-12-31,05:25:03.43] eth0: link up, full duplex, speed 1 Gbps
[2015-12-31,05:25:04.54] eth0: link down
[2015-12-31,05:25:07.58] eth0: link up, full duplex, speed 1 Gbps
[2015-12-31,05:25:08.73] eth0: link down
[2015-12-31,05:25:11.75] eth0: link up, full duplex, speed 1 Gbps
[2015-12-31,05:25:12.84] eth0: link down
[2015-12-31,05:25:15.15] eth0: link up, full duplex, speed 100 Mbps



RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - johnm - 01-05-2016 08:24 PM

So it's dropping the link after little more than a second. If it isn't a mechanical problem it's beginning to look like a failing ethernet port to me. After it's dropped down to 100 Mb/s is it stable from the on? As I said earlier, 10BaseT and 100BaseTX use only the orange and green pairs in the cable, while 1000BaseT uses the blue and brown pairs as well. I'd suspect an analogue component associated with the blue or brown pairs - the coupling transformer, perhaps? or a dry solder joint? or a broken track in the vicinity of the socket?

@jtwwuw You don't need such highly specified cable. Category 5e is perfectly good for up to 100 metres, which is the limit for twisted pair copper-based Ethernet. Categories 6 and 6a won't work over longer distances and they are more expensive and more difficult to handle (being stiffer) and terminate. They are only useful if you're doing a permanent installation and think you might want to use faster Ethernet one day. But for connecting a Drobo at 1 Gb/s you only need Category 5e.


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - arcticmoose - 01-12-2016 12:57 PM

(01-05-2016 08:24 PM)johnm Wrote:  I'd suspect an analogue component associated with the blue or brown pairs - the coupling transformer, perhaps? or a dry solder joint? or a broken track in the vicinity of the socket?

I sent a condensed version of my findings to support and received a reply almost immediately that stated that "Technical Support has determined that we need to replace/repair your unit."

I'm assuming they have come to the same conclusion you have. It isn't the outcome I was looking for, but I hope the end result will be a fully functional Drobo.


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - johnm - 01-18-2016 11:40 AM

Well, it will surely fix your problem. Please report back when you've installed the replacement.


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - arcticmoose - 04-05-2016 04:42 AM

(01-18-2016 11:40 AM)johnm Wrote:  Well, it will surely fix your problem. Please report back when you've installed the replacement.

The dealer confirmed the issue and sent the unit back to Drobo. It took ages before I heard back, but now it is clear that it has been credited, and the dealer no longer carries Drobo products.

I'll be getting my money back, but I still need a replacement unit, and the price seems to have gone up significantly. Not really the outcome I was hoping for.


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - arcticmoose - 07-10-2016 05:17 AM

After not getting any traction with support I contacted EU sales, who quickly arranged a new unit through the local distributor at the same price I originally paid. The disk pack has been mounted and works as expected, and the connection speed issue is nowhere to be seen, so I am happy! :-)


RE: No 1000 mbit/s wired connection to Apple Airport Extreme - Paul - 07-11-2016 03:06 PM

cool artic moose Smile