Drobo Forums
Volume has disappeared from my desktop - Printable Version

+- Drobo Forums (http://www.drobospace.com/forums)
+-- Forum: Drobo (/forumdisplay.php?fid=1)
+--- Forum: Frequently Asked Questions (/forumdisplay.php?fid=82)
+--- Thread: Volume has disappeared from my desktop (/showthread.php?tid=145671)


Volume has disappeared from my desktop - martinhillphoto - 02-03-2016 02:43 PM

Hi,
I'm a complete novice with technology like this but I've had a drobo looking after my data for years. Here's my problem. I have an original 4 hard drive unit and at the time of setting it up I selected to have 3 volumes to share my data around. Over the past couple of days one of my volumes has disappeared from the desktop (mac user). The other two are there and I can access my data.
On opening drobo dashboard I can see the 3 volumes on the machine. Two have the the amount of date space used and the 3rd volume is showing blank. I have no idea why this has happened and the only change that has happened recently is upgrading my mac to El Capitan. I'm sure though that all 3 volumes could be accessed after the upgrade. Beginning to panic now as there is quite a lot of data on that volume I need to access. Can anyone please helps. Many thanks Martin


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - Paul - 02-03-2016 03:06 PM

hi martin,
if you had the drobo active and in use during the actual upgrade, it may be that something locked that volume during the upgrade (and its actually recommended by support to safely shutdown the drobo before the upgrade)

but, i think what you can try is to simply use dashboard to safely shutdown the drobo,
and then to shutdown the computer and power all off, and to remove the computer connection cable from the drobo.
and then to power up the drobo 1st
(it should boot up as normal and go through the blue led sequence, and then likely go into standby mode with an orange power light)

and then to boot up your mac as per usual
and once that is up and running (with dashboard too)
to then connect the usb cable (ideally) to the drobo
(it should now wake up as per normal, and if you let it run like that for several minutes, does dashboard and ultimately the mac now show each volume how they were again?)

if not, there are some other steps you could try but i think letting it boot up on its own like that, and then letting do its thing for a while will help (as it did for me on windows a couple of times in the past)


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - martinhillphoto - 02-04-2016 06:03 AM

Hi Paul,

Thanks so much of this advice I'll try the below later today and report back. Thanks for taking the time to respond, I really appreciate it.

Cheers
Martin


(02-03-2016 03:06 PM)Paul Wrote:  hi martin,
if you had the drobo active and in use during the actual upgrade, it may be that something locked that volume during the upgrade (and its actually recommended by support to safely shutdown the drobo before the upgrade)

but, i think what you can try is to simply use dashboard to safely shutdown the drobo,
and then to shutdown the computer and power all off, and to remove the computer connection cable from the drobo.
and then to power up the drobo 1st
(it should boot up as normal and go through the blue led sequence, and then likely go into standby mode with an orange power light)

and then to boot up your mac as per usual
and once that is up and running (with dashboard too)
to then connect the usb cable (ideally) to the drobo
(it should now wake up as per normal, and if you let it run like that for several minutes, does dashboard and ultimately the mac now show each volume how they were again?)

if not, there are some other steps you could try but i think letting it boot up on its own like that, and then letting do its thing for a while will help (as it did for me on windows a couple of times in the past)



RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - martinhillphoto - 02-04-2016 09:43 AM

Hi Paul,
I'm afraid that solution didn't work. Any other ideas that may help me? Thanks very much

cheers

Martin


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - Paul - 02-04-2016 10:15 PM

hi martin thanks for trying and for the info,

as you are on a mac, it could possibly be something with the filesystem of that particular volume, (such as if a mac program crashed or something while it was accessing/modifying or locking part of that volume).

just as a question, if you go to the mac's disk management program (probably disk utility), can that also see the volume as being in existance? if so, you could try running a filesystem check (or first aid) on that problematic volume to see if it fixes it.

i am not a mac expert though, so what might be a good idea first, would be to make some backups of your currently-available data, before running any fixes to play safe (at least for your important data).

also, if disk utility can not help, then lots of mac users have had good experiences for a whole host of issues, when using Disk Warrior (though that is not free)


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - GUILLAUMERIVIERE - 09-01-2016 07:10 AM

Hi Martin,

I have a big problem. The same problem you had !

I have a mac (apple/OS X Yosemite 10.10.5) and a drobo 2nd generarion with 4 disks (3 used actually).


My problem is : the Drobo Icon disappeared from the desktop !!!
And it's a big problem because its' like I have nothing.


When I go to the mac's disk management program (disk utility) the Drobo is called : "disque virtuel entier" in french beacause I am french (= full virtual disk) (with red letters!)

The Drobo dashboard is ok.

I don't understand and it's hard to live !

Help please !!!

thank you.

best regards,

gui


(02-04-2016 10:15 PM)Paul Wrote:  hi martin thanks for trying and for the info,

as you are on a mac, it could possibly be something with the filesystem of that particular volume, (such as if a mac program crashed or something while it was accessing/modifying or locking part of that volume).

just as a question, if you go to the mac's disk management program (probably disk utility), can that also see the volume as being in existance? if so, you could try running a filesystem check (or first aid) on that problematic volume to see if it fixes it.

i am not a mac expert though, so what might be a good idea first, would be to make some backups of your currently-available data, before running any fixes to play safe (at least for your important data).

also, if disk utility can not help, then lots of mac users have had good experiences for a whole host of issues, when using Disk Warrior (though that is not free)

Hi Martin,

I have a big problem. The same problem you had !

I have a mac (apple/OS X Yosemite 10.10.5) and a drobo 2nd generarion with 4 disks (3 used actually).


My problem is : the Drobo Icon disappeared from the desktop !!!
And it's a big problem because its' like I have nothing.


When I go to the mac's disk management program (disk utility) the Drobo is called : "disque virtuel entier" in french beacause I am french (= full virtual disk) (with red letters!)

The Drobo dashboard is ok.

I don't understand and it's hard to live !

Help please !!!

thank you.

best regards,

gui


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - Paul - 09-02-2016 07:08 AM

hi gui,
if you have some time, can you have a look in dashboard please, and to see what does it show you for Used % and Free %?

also can you post back with some more infomation about the drives, that you in drobo, for example, what size does drobo show for each drive?


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - fredblair - 11-17-2016 05:46 PM

(02-03-2016 02:43 PM)martinhillphoto Wrote:  Hi,
I'm a complete novice with technology like this but I've had a drobo looking after my data for years. Here's my problem. I have an original 4 hard drive unit and at the time of setting it up I selected to have 3 volumes to share my data around. Over the past couple of days one of my volumes has disappeared from the desktop (mac user). The other two are there and I can access my data.
On opening drobo dashboard I can see the 3 volumes on the machine. Two have the the amount of date space used and the 3rd volume is showing blank. I have no idea why this has happened and the only change that has happened recently is upgrading my mac to El Capitan. I'm sure though that all 3 volumes could be accessed after the upgrade. Beginning to panic now as there is quite a lot of data on that volume I need to access. Can anyone please helps. Many thanks Martin

(02-03-2016 02:43 PM)martinhillphoto Wrote:  Hi,
I'm a complete novice with technology like this but I've had a drobo looking after my data for years. Here's my problem. I have an original 4 hard drive unit and at the time of setting it up I selected to have 3 volumes to share my data around. Over the past couple of days one of my volumes has disappeared from the desktop (mac user). The other two are there and I can access my data.
On opening drobo dashboard I can see the 3 volumes on the machine. Two have the the amount of date space used and the 3rd volume is showing blank. I have no idea why this has happened and the only change that has happened recently is upgrading my mac to El Capitan. I'm sure though that all 3 volumes could be accessed after the upgrade. Beginning to panic now as there is quite a lot of data on that volume I need to access. Can anyone please helps. Many thanks Martin

I have this same problem. The volume just disappears form the finder in El Capitan. The Drobo Dashboard shows it is running well and has plenty of storage space . All lights are green. It just does not show up. Also Time Machine now thinks it is unconnected - even though Drobo Dashboard can recognize it. I googled the problem and it seems to be a lot of people nuts. then I found Drobo's post ( Below) : This is even more frustrating. Read the very last line.

El Capitan compatibility
Article ID AA-01863 | Date Updated: 10/11/2016 05:15 AM[/b][/b][/size]

Mac OS 10.11 has been tested and is compatible with our current product line. This includes:

Drobo 5N
Drobo 5D
Drobo Gen 3
Drobo Mini
Drobo B810n
Drobo B810i
Drobo B1200i
Before you upgrade to Mac OS 10.11, we do recommend the following:
1. Verify your Drobo has the latest Drobo Dashboard and firmware installed.
2. Before installing El Capitan power off your Drobo using Shutdown in the Drobo Dashboard or by using the toggle switch on the back of the unit. Leave Drobo powered off until your installation of Mac OS 10.11 is complete.
If the Drobo Dashboard does not recognize the Drobo after you have installed Mac OS 10.11, check your Firewall settings as follows:
In System Preferences >Security & Privacy >Firewall, click the padlock icon to "Unlock" then select "Turn On Firewall". Next select "Firewall Options" and ensure "DDService64d" is set to "Allow incoming connections". Select "OK" to save your settings. It may also be necessary to uninstall/reinstall Drobo Dashboard. Drobo should now be recognized by the Drobo Dashboard.
Note:
For ISCSI users: ATTO scheduled to release update v3.50 for El Capitan on Oct. 01, 2015.
Drobo S is not compatible with El Capitan. We do encourage you to upgrade to Drobo 5D for compatibility.


... What the hell. One day your drobo works, then you upgrade ...and now it doesn't.


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - Paul - 11-18-2016 03:55 PM

by the way, there might be something in finder preferences, which may need checking or enabling to show all kinds of drives or network drives. have you tried that just in case it helps?


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - schaam626 - 01-10-2017 05:00 PM

Hey everyone, I am new here but am wondering if anyone was able to resolve their case of the Drobo not showing up on their iMac. I am running El Captain on mine and seemed that one day it was showing and the next day it wasn't. My Drobo mini was purchased in Dec 2013 so it's well past any help from support. Thanks!


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - Paul - 01-11-2017 06:02 PM

hi schaam626,
for the part about support, i believe there is now a way to still get a support ticket raised (a bit like a pay-per-incident) even if out of support if you would wish, though it might also be worth having a quick check on this page below, just in case there is a mac setting that was possibly changed by a recent mac update, and it might be able to help you gain access again?

https://myproducts.drobo.com/article/AA-01820
(also step 8 or 9 has links with more mac info that might help)


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - smoothfluid - 01-21-2017 08:38 PM

Just happened to me.
One minute I was listing to some music on iTunes and the next iTunes couldn't connect. I rebooted my Mac and the drive just didn't mount.
So: Drobo 5D is not mounting although the Drobo Dashboard connects fine with it. (the system preferences shows the USB connection with the Drobo too). All the bay lights are green. The dashboard says it's healthy. Running the latest firmware.
And yet — nothing. Very worried!
I've submitted a support ticket, and am crossing my fingers.
Mac 10.12.2


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - Paul - 01-23-2017 09:19 AM

hi smoothfluid,
generally speaking, if dashboard can still see the drobo, and if the status on the drobo is also all solid lights ideally green, then it is probably in a decent state. (i say this as in some other cases all drives might be red or not powering up depending on the issue)

hopefully the support team will be able to help you, (and please wait to finish any steps with the support team that they may suggest), and if afterwards there are still problems, it may be worth trying to run disk utility or diskwarrior if you have access to that as while diskwarrior may not work for everybody, it has had a high degree of success in terms of checking mac drives and may help you too)


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - diskc - 01-25-2017 05:04 PM

I have a Drobo 3rd gen and periodically find that the Drobo simply vanishes from my desktop. This has been true with the last 3 OS's from Mac, so I do not think that it is OS related. I have DiskWarrior and have been able to recover the Drobo volume using it. DiskWarrior rebuilds the volume. DiskWarrior, by the way, is well worth the money. It has successfully fixed every problem on the Mac that I have encountered. I store my photos on the Drobo, and do a consider amount of editing with Photos with libraries on the Drobo. I thought that this might be contributing to the problem, but maybe not. In summary, the problem is not identified or solved, but DiskWarrior fixes it.


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - Paul - 01-25-2017 08:39 PM

thanks for your info diskc and glad that you also had success with diskwarrior


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - smoothfluid - 01-26-2017 09:32 PM

UPDATE:
Yes. Disk Warrior was the solution. Most likely the file structure got messed up (no idea what the cause was) but Drobo support suggested a couple of steps (Disk Utility for example) that didn't seem to highlight any issues but then Disk Warrior spent 2 minutes examining the 5D volume and remounted it. Everything appeared exactly where I had left it.


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - Paul - 01-27-2017 04:04 PM

nice one smoothfluid, am glad things are working again for you


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - stpauls_audiovisuals - 03-03-2017 12:00 AM

I am having the same problem here. I need to access my file immediately but my Drobo 2 is not appearing on my desktop. I have another Drobo connected and it is working well.
I hope you guys could help me.


RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop - Paul - 03-03-2017 09:14 PM

hi audiovisuals, i saw you other post here in the b800i post:
http://www.drobospace.com/forums/showthread.php?tid=147624

i wasnt sure which drobo you were mentioning, though if you have a gen2 drobo (which connects up via firewire or usb), then a few things you could try could be these:

- what happens if you try shutting all down (ideally using dashboard to shutdown the drobo first, and then shutting down the computer)
- and then unplugging the connection cable from the drobo
- and then if you wait 15minutes and try powering up the computer and dashboard,
- and then if you try connecting the gen2 drobo via usb directly to the computer
- and then powering up the drobo
(what happens now?)
does the drobo wake up soon after, and then boot up and become recognised by dashboard and the computer again?

(if dashboard can find out, but the computer can not, and if you are also on a mac, do you have access to diskwarrior? that has been known to fix a lot of mounting issues on mac and may be able to also help)

if those are not possible to try or do not work, then it may be worth raising a ticket with the support team (which i believe can still be raised as a paid incident, even in case not longer in support, if you would wish)