Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
DroboApp announcement: CrashPlan 3.6.3
04-08-2014, 06:02 PM
Post: #61
RE: DroboApp announcement: CrashPlan 3.6.3
(04-08-2014 10:57 AM)davel23 Wrote:  
(04-08-2014 10:53 AM)diamondsw Wrote:  The simplest way by far to add more swap space is just to create another swap file; editing the init scripts will be overwritten every time you update the firmware. Taking ricardo's advice in another thread, I whipped up a psuedo DroboApp that simply allocates and activates another GB of swap.

If we change "count=1k" to "count=2k" will that make it two GB?

Yup.

Drobo 5N | 32GB Crucial m4 SSD | 2 x 4TB Seagate, 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Green | FS/EXT3 diskpack
Peak performance >100MBps read/write (based on FS disk pack, no jumbo frames, no SSD)
DroboPorts: OpenSSH, unfsd, nano, screen, stgt (iSCSI), CrashPlan/Oracle JVM
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-08-2014, 09:07 PM
Post: #62
RE: DroboApp announcement: CrashPlan 3.6.3
My apologies as a new user here, but is there someplace I can go that describes the current setup process for Crashplan on Drobo?

I've seen a couple places where there are instructions, but it seems they're outdated or at least missing things discussed in later posts like the ones at the end of this thread.

Thanks for your help!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-08-2014, 10:19 PM
Post: #63
RE: DroboApp announcement: CrashPlan 3.6.3
Well, there are three DroboApps you need (all from http://www.droboports.com): Crashplan (of course), Java 7, and locale. Java 8 works fine but requires tweaking the service.sh script and doesn't presently yield any benefit.
http://www.droboports.com/app-repository...plan-3-6-3
http://www.droboports.com/app-repository/java-7u51
http://www.droboports.com/app-repository/locale

On each of these, you can skip the packaging sections and go straight to installation.

Once you have the DroboApps installed, you need a way to connect the Crashplan GUI on your computer to the Crashplan engine on the Drobo. The only way to do that is via an SSH tunnel, which means another DroboPort - OpenSSH.
http://www.droboports.com/app-repository/openssh-6-2p2

I believe it will work out of the box, but configuring users, login, paths, etc - well outside of what I can cover here. Once SSH is working, you need to open a port forward like so:
Code:
ssh -L 4200:localhost:4243 <drobo-ip>

Finally, you need to edit the ui.properties file inside the Crashplan client (location varies by platform) and add the following line:
Code:
servicePort=4200

So, here's what happens...
  1. Crashplan on the Drobo launches via Java 7, and the locale package provides international character support. It can perform backups unattended, but at first will be waiting for a connection from a GUI to configure it.
  2. The SSH tunnel opens a connection from the local computer on port 4200, to your Drobo on port 4243. This means anything you send to port 4200 will be forwarded to the Crashplan engine on the Drobo.
  3. With the edited ui.properties file, the Crashplan client on your computer will connect to port 4200 - which is effectively the copy of Crashplan engine on the Drobo.


You've seen the recent discussions of memory usage. Once you get this working, you'll probably want to load the swap DroboApp I posted a few posts back. This will give your Drobo a much larger working space and avoid (hopefully) some of the out-of-memory problems that plague Crashplan.

Drobo 5N | 32GB Crucial m4 SSD | 2 x 4TB Seagate, 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Green | FS/EXT3 diskpack
Peak performance >100MBps read/write (based on FS disk pack, no jumbo frames, no SSD)
DroboPorts: OpenSSH, unfsd, nano, screen, stgt (iSCSI), CrashPlan/Oracle JVM
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2014, 11:00 AM
Post: #64
RE: DroboApp announcement: CrashPlan 3.6.3
(04-08-2014 10:19 PM)diamondsw Wrote:  Well, there are three DroboApps you need (all from http://www.droboports.com): Crashplan (of course), Java 7, and locale. Java 8 works fine but requires tweaking the service.sh script and doesn't presently yield any benefit.
http://www.droboports.com/app-repository...plan-3-6-3
http://www.droboports.com/app-repository/java-7u51
http://www.droboports.com/app-repository/locale

On each of these, you can skip the packaging sections and go straight to installation.

Once you have the DroboApps installed, you need a way to connect the Crashplan GUI on your computer to the Crashplan engine on the Drobo. The only way to do that is via an SSH tunnel, which means another DroboPort - OpenSSH.
http://www.droboports.com/app-repository/openssh-6-2p2

I believe it will work out of the box, but configuring users, login, paths, etc - well outside of what I can cover here. Once SSH is working, you need to open a port forward like so:
Code:
ssh -L 4200:localhost:4243 <drobo-ip>

Finally, you need to edit the ui.properties file inside the Crashplan client (location varies by platform) and add the following line:
Code:
servicePort=4200

So, here's what happens...
  1. Crashplan on the Drobo launches via Java 7, and the locale package provides international character support. It can perform backups unattended, but at first will be waiting for a connection from a GUI to configure it.
  2. The SSH tunnel opens a connection from the local computer on port 4200, to your Drobo on port 4243. This means anything you send to port 4200 will be forwarded to the Crashplan engine on the Drobo.
  3. With the edited ui.properties file, the Crashplan client on your computer will connect to port 4200 - which is effectively the copy of Crashplan engine on the Drobo.


You've seen the recent discussions of memory usage. Once you get this working, you'll probably want to load the swap DroboApp I posted a few posts back. This will give your Drobo a much larger working space and avoid (hopefully) some of the out-of-memory problems that plague Crashplan.

Thank you SO much for this. I'm going to be following these instructions this weekend hopefully and finally get crashplan up on my 5N. The other data backup services offered through drobo apps are insanely expensive comparatively, and I've been waiting for crashplan support for what seems like ever.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-20-2014, 07:57 AM (This post was last modified: 04-20-2014 08:58 AM by kcole@yahoo.com.)
Post: #65
RE: DroboApp announcement: CrashPlan 3.6.3
I am having trouble with my Crashplan. The original install worked fine but once I tried to connect to Crashplan Online it wanted to update the install. Now the update is failing and crash plan will not run/update on the Drobo 5N. Has anyone had this problem? Anyone know how to fix?

UPDATE: I was able to resolve this problem by uninstalling Crashplan and downloading the compiled 3.6.3 version from here:
http://www.droboports.com/app-repository...plan-3-6-3

Thanks DroboPorts!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-20-2014, 10:23 AM
Post: #66
RE: DroboApp announcement: CrashPlan 3.6.3
You're welcome! Big Grin

Tap the full potential of the Drobo FS/5N with DroboApps.
To receive the latest updates about my DroboApps circle me on Google Plus.
Do you want to help me make more apps, more often? Then please become a Patreon.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-09-2014, 03:51 AM
Post: #67
Sad RE: DroboApp announcement: CrashPlan 3.6.3
Hello All

Please bear with me as a newbie here!

I have an 800Fs which I'm planning on using for backup's and media storage and would really like an idiots guide to setting up CrashPlan sync if possible on my Drobo?

I'm not familiar with Linux admin - but can follow instructions!

Can anyone help me?

Thanks

Russell
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-12-2014, 03:29 PM
Post: #68
RE: DroboApp announcement: CrashPlan 3.6.3
Noob question here.
In the install directions it talks of setting up a port from my laptop to the Drobo5N?
Does this mean that Crashplan on the Drobo doesn't actually backup from the Drobo directly? Does it need a desktop/laptop to be on for it to work?
Thanks.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-13-2014, 06:23 PM
Post: #69
RE: DroboApp announcement: CrashPlan 3.6.3
Crashplan on the Drobo will back up without needing to have a "front end" machine on and connected to it. You still need to use the front end to at least initially configure the backup though.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-29-2014, 12:15 PM (This post was last modified: 05-29-2014 03:44 PM by dylancyr.)
Post: #70
RE: DroboApp announcement: CrashPlan 3.6.3
This is in reference to Diamondsw's post:

I followed these instructions, and even installed that swap app that you posted, but I get to about a TB and a half into scanning the files for backup, and I get the error message "CrashPlan has been disconnected from the backup engine."

I also installed crashplan from the link you posted, but now on my drobo dashboard it's saying there is an update available. I'm going to guess with the issues that people have had, updating this would be a bad idea.

Any clue as to how I can find out what's going on?

EDIT: So I decided to upgrade, and I'm getting this new prompt to set a password for the archive, which, when I try to do, automatically disconnects me from the service. Once it scans the files on the CP server, and begins to scan what's on the Drobo itself, the app crashes, and it disconnects me.

This may be a memory issue. CP recommends roughly 1GB of memory per TB of data, so I changed the count=1k in that swap app to count=3k, as I have roughly 3TB of data. On top of the on-board 880MB, I think that should do the trick. I will update. One question about this, do I also need to change the bs=1M to bs=3M?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: