Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Volume has disappeared from my desktop
02-03-2016, 02:43 PM
Post: #1
Volume has disappeared from my desktop
Hi,
I'm a complete novice with technology like this but I've had a drobo looking after my data for years. Here's my problem. I have an original 4 hard drive unit and at the time of setting it up I selected to have 3 volumes to share my data around. Over the past couple of days one of my volumes has disappeared from the desktop (mac user). The other two are there and I can access my data.
On opening drobo dashboard I can see the 3 volumes on the machine. Two have the the amount of date space used and the 3rd volume is showing blank. I have no idea why this has happened and the only change that has happened recently is upgrading my mac to El Capitan. I'm sure though that all 3 volumes could be accessed after the upgrade. Beginning to panic now as there is quite a lot of data on that volume I need to access. Can anyone please helps. Many thanks Martin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-03-2016, 03:06 PM
Post: #2
RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop
hi martin,
if you had the drobo active and in use during the actual upgrade, it may be that something locked that volume during the upgrade (and its actually recommended by support to safely shutdown the drobo before the upgrade)

but, i think what you can try is to simply use dashboard to safely shutdown the drobo,
and then to shutdown the computer and power all off, and to remove the computer connection cable from the drobo.
and then to power up the drobo 1st
(it should boot up as normal and go through the blue led sequence, and then likely go into standby mode with an orange power light)

and then to boot up your mac as per usual
and once that is up and running (with dashboard too)
to then connect the usb cable (ideally) to the drobo
(it should now wake up as per normal, and if you let it run like that for several minutes, does dashboard and ultimately the mac now show each volume how they were again?)

if not, there are some other steps you could try but i think letting it boot up on its own like that, and then letting do its thing for a while will help (as it did for me on windows a couple of times in the past)

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-04-2016, 06:03 AM
Post: #3
RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop
Hi Paul,

Thanks so much of this advice I'll try the below later today and report back. Thanks for taking the time to respond, I really appreciate it.

Cheers
Martin


(02-03-2016 03:06 PM)Paul Wrote:  hi martin,
if you had the drobo active and in use during the actual upgrade, it may be that something locked that volume during the upgrade (and its actually recommended by support to safely shutdown the drobo before the upgrade)

but, i think what you can try is to simply use dashboard to safely shutdown the drobo,
and then to shutdown the computer and power all off, and to remove the computer connection cable from the drobo.
and then to power up the drobo 1st
(it should boot up as normal and go through the blue led sequence, and then likely go into standby mode with an orange power light)

and then to boot up your mac as per usual
and once that is up and running (with dashboard too)
to then connect the usb cable (ideally) to the drobo
(it should now wake up as per normal, and if you let it run like that for several minutes, does dashboard and ultimately the mac now show each volume how they were again?)

if not, there are some other steps you could try but i think letting it boot up on its own like that, and then letting do its thing for a while will help (as it did for me on windows a couple of times in the past)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-04-2016, 09:43 AM
Post: #4
RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop
Hi Paul,
I'm afraid that solution didn't work. Any other ideas that may help me? Thanks very much

cheers

Martin
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-04-2016, 10:15 PM
Post: #5
RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop
hi martin thanks for trying and for the info,

as you are on a mac, it could possibly be something with the filesystem of that particular volume, (such as if a mac program crashed or something while it was accessing/modifying or locking part of that volume).

just as a question, if you go to the mac's disk management program (probably disk utility), can that also see the volume as being in existance? if so, you could try running a filesystem check (or first aid) on that problematic volume to see if it fixes it.

i am not a mac expert though, so what might be a good idea first, would be to make some backups of your currently-available data, before running any fixes to play safe (at least for your important data).

also, if disk utility can not help, then lots of mac users have had good experiences for a whole host of issues, when using Disk Warrior (though that is not free)

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-01-2016, 07:10 AM (This post was last modified: 09-01-2016 07:11 AM by GUILLAUMERIVIERE.)
Post: #6
RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop
Hi Martin,

I have a big problem. The same problem you had !

I have a mac (apple/OS X Yosemite 10.10.5) and a drobo 2nd generarion with 4 disks (3 used actually).


My problem is : the Drobo Icon disappeared from the desktop !!!
And it's a big problem because its' like I have nothing.


When I go to the mac's disk management program (disk utility) the Drobo is called : "disque virtuel entier" in french beacause I am french (= full virtual disk) (with red letters!)

The Drobo dashboard is ok.

I don't understand and it's hard to live !

Help please !!!

thank you.

best regards,

gui


(02-04-2016 10:15 PM)Paul Wrote:  hi martin thanks for trying and for the info,

as you are on a mac, it could possibly be something with the filesystem of that particular volume, (such as if a mac program crashed or something while it was accessing/modifying or locking part of that volume).

just as a question, if you go to the mac's disk management program (probably disk utility), can that also see the volume as being in existance? if so, you could try running a filesystem check (or first aid) on that problematic volume to see if it fixes it.

i am not a mac expert though, so what might be a good idea first, would be to make some backups of your currently-available data, before running any fixes to play safe (at least for your important data).

also, if disk utility can not help, then lots of mac users have had good experiences for a whole host of issues, when using Disk Warrior (though that is not free)

Hi Martin,

I have a big problem. The same problem you had !

I have a mac (apple/OS X Yosemite 10.10.5) and a drobo 2nd generarion with 4 disks (3 used actually).


My problem is : the Drobo Icon disappeared from the desktop !!!
And it's a big problem because its' like I have nothing.


When I go to the mac's disk management program (disk utility) the Drobo is called : "disque virtuel entier" in french beacause I am french (= full virtual disk) (with red letters!)

The Drobo dashboard is ok.

I don't understand and it's hard to live !

Help please !!!

thank you.

best regards,

gui
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
09-02-2016, 07:08 AM
Post: #7
RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop
hi gui,
if you have some time, can you have a look in dashboard please, and to see what does it show you for Used % and Free %?

also can you post back with some more infomation about the drives, that you in drobo, for example, what size does drobo show for each drive?

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-17-2016, 05:46 PM (This post was last modified: 11-17-2016 05:53 PM by fredblair.)
Post: #8
RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop
(02-03-2016 02:43 PM)martinhillphoto Wrote:  Hi,
I'm a complete novice with technology like this but I've had a drobo looking after my data for years. Here's my problem. I have an original 4 hard drive unit and at the time of setting it up I selected to have 3 volumes to share my data around. Over the past couple of days one of my volumes has disappeared from the desktop (mac user). The other two are there and I can access my data.
On opening drobo dashboard I can see the 3 volumes on the machine. Two have the the amount of date space used and the 3rd volume is showing blank. I have no idea why this has happened and the only change that has happened recently is upgrading my mac to El Capitan. I'm sure though that all 3 volumes could be accessed after the upgrade. Beginning to panic now as there is quite a lot of data on that volume I need to access. Can anyone please helps. Many thanks Martin

(02-03-2016 02:43 PM)martinhillphoto Wrote:  Hi,
I'm a complete novice with technology like this but I've had a drobo looking after my data for years. Here's my problem. I have an original 4 hard drive unit and at the time of setting it up I selected to have 3 volumes to share my data around. Over the past couple of days one of my volumes has disappeared from the desktop (mac user). The other two are there and I can access my data.
On opening drobo dashboard I can see the 3 volumes on the machine. Two have the the amount of date space used and the 3rd volume is showing blank. I have no idea why this has happened and the only change that has happened recently is upgrading my mac to El Capitan. I'm sure though that all 3 volumes could be accessed after the upgrade. Beginning to panic now as there is quite a lot of data on that volume I need to access. Can anyone please helps. Many thanks Martin

I have this same problem. The volume just disappears form the finder in El Capitan. The Drobo Dashboard shows it is running well and has plenty of storage space . All lights are green. It just does not show up. Also Time Machine now thinks it is unconnected - even though Drobo Dashboard can recognize it. I googled the problem and it seems to be a lot of people nuts. then I found Drobo's post ( Below) : This is even more frustrating. Read the very last line.

El Capitan compatibility
Article ID AA-01863 | Date Updated: 10/11/2016 05:15 AM[/b][/b][/size]

Mac OS 10.11 has been tested and is compatible with our current product line. This includes:

Drobo 5N
Drobo 5D
Drobo Gen 3
Drobo Mini
Drobo B810n
Drobo B810i
Drobo B1200i
Before you upgrade to Mac OS 10.11, we do recommend the following:
1. Verify your Drobo has the latest Drobo Dashboard and firmware installed.
2. Before installing El Capitan power off your Drobo using Shutdown in the Drobo Dashboard or by using the toggle switch on the back of the unit. Leave Drobo powered off until your installation of Mac OS 10.11 is complete.
If the Drobo Dashboard does not recognize the Drobo after you have installed Mac OS 10.11, check your Firewall settings as follows:
In System Preferences >Security & Privacy >Firewall, click the padlock icon to "Unlock" then select "Turn On Firewall". Next select "Firewall Options" and ensure "DDService64d" is set to "Allow incoming connections". Select "OK" to save your settings. It may also be necessary to uninstall/reinstall Drobo Dashboard. Drobo should now be recognized by the Drobo Dashboard.
Note:
For ISCSI users: ATTO scheduled to release update v3.50 for El Capitan on Oct. 01, 2015.
Drobo S is not compatible with El Capitan. We do encourage you to upgrade to Drobo 5D for compatibility.


... What the hell. One day your drobo works, then you upgrade ...and now it doesn't.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-18-2016, 03:55 PM
Post: #9
RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop
by the way, there might be something in finder preferences, which may need checking or enabling to show all kinds of drives or network drives. have you tried that just in case it helps?

(btw i have XP home SP2, a Drobo v1 with 2x 1TB/2x 1.5TB WD greens, & a bkp Drobo v2 with the same + a DroboShare: unused)
& a DroboS v2 with 3xWD15EADS &2x1TB in DDR mode on win7, & a drobo5D (all usb)
  • btw i did a sustained (write) operation for about 6 hours, and got 13.2MB / sec ...objection? "sustained" :)
    (16.7MB/s on a v2 & 47-96MB/s drobo-s)
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-10-2017, 05:00 PM
Post: #10
RE: Volume has disappeared from my desktop
Hey everyone, I am new here but am wondering if anyone was able to resolve their case of the Drobo not showing up on their iMac. I am running El Captain on mine and seemed that one day it was showing and the next day it wasn't. My Drobo mini was purchased in Dec 2013 so it's well past any help from support. Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump: